Ontario EcoSchools is an environmental education program that addresses both how the schools are run and what students learn. It has been designed collaboratively by school boards, for school boards to incorporate environmental education, as well as environmentally responsible action into the school setting. Student success – in both academics and positive contributions to society – is the focus of Ontario EcoSchools. The program aims to influence young people during a formative period of life and affect an exponential impact as children take a culture of conservation home with them.

Certification demonstrates that schools have met the high standards for energy conservation, waste minimization, school ground greening and ecological literacy set out by EcoSchools Ontario. The whole school community must be involved to be successful.

Certified EcoSchools

The school names in Bold receive a special seal for certifying as an EcoSchool for five years.

These schools represent the leadership and commitment of staff and students in environmental education within the Waterloo Region District School Board.

For more information regarding EcoSchools please visit Ontario EcoSchools.

Gold Silver Bronze
Baden Public School Camp Heidelberg Outdoor Education Centre Bluevale Collegiate Institute
Cameron Heights Collegiate Institute Chalmers Street Public School Doon Public School
Centennial Public School (Cambridge) Edna Staebler Public School Southridge Public School
Clemens Mill Public School Elmira District Secondary School  Westheights Public School
Coronation Public School Empire Public School
Country Hills Public School J.W. Gerth Public School
Eastwood Collegiate Institute Jacob Hespeler Secondary School
Elgin Street Public School Laurel Creek Outdoor Education Centre
Forest Hill Public School Laurelwood Public School
Glencairn Public School Lexington Public School
Glenview Park Secondary School Pioneer Park Public Schoool
Hillcrest Public School Queensmount Public School
Keatsway Public School Sir Adam Beck Public School
Lackner Woods Public School Sunnyside Public School
Linwood Public School William G Davis Public School
MacGregor Public School
Millen Woods Public School
New Dundee Public School
Northlake Woods Public School
Southwood Secondary School
Suddaby Public School
St. Andrew’s Public School
W.T. Townshend Public School
Waterloo Collegiate Institute
Wellesley Public School
Westvale Public School
Williamsburg Public School

Green Bin Pilot

The Region of Waterloo is extending the green bin pilot project (currently at Keatsway PS) to an additional 18 WRDSB EcoSchools for the 2010-11 school year. This project will include educational experiences for students as well as promotional materials as part of a partnership between the WRDSB and the Region of Waterloo.

Participation in the green bin project assists schools to achieve EcoSchool certification and helps students and their families practice environmental stewardship at school and at home. The following schools are participating in the green bin pilot project for 2010-11:

  • Bluevale CI
  • Eastwood CI
  • Kitchener-Waterloo CI
  • Glenview Park SS
  • Southwood SS
  • Chalmers Street PS
  • Hespeler PS
  • Suddaby PS
  • Edna Staebler PS
  • Stewart Avenue PS
  • Forest Hill PS
  • Baden PS
  • Glencairn PS
  • Ryerson PS
  • Centennial PS (Cambridge)
  • Empire PS
  • Williamsburg PS
  • Keatsway PS